In Which Alastair selects Five Thinking Bloggers and is Disturbed to Discover that he has a Doppelganger

Byron has just tagged me in the thinking blogger meme. I thought that I would post my list and give myself this day off my month-long hiatus. It has been some time since I last posted anything worth reading.

So, without further ado, my selection for five thinking blogs (in no particular order):

1. Fragmenta — I love thought-provoking exegetical insights and Matt Colvin’s blog is one of the best places to go for these.

2. Leithart.com — As far as thinking blogs go, Peter Leithart’s is almost without peer.

3. Sacra Doctrina — Joel Garver, when he is not ‘going Garver’, is one the most stimulating and level-headed bloggers out there.

4. Faith and Theology — It would be hard to deny Ben Myers a place on any such list.

5. Smilax — Dennis Hou has been MIA for much of 2007, but when he is blogging, his posts are often the ones that I most look forward to reading.

Drawing up such a list has not been easy. There are many people who came close to inclusion: Cynthia Nielsen, Al Kimel, John H, John Barach, and the horror that is Chris Tilling.

On the subject of theology blogs, I had the most disturbing experience yesterday. Barbara Harvey drew my attention to this blog. The writer of this blog is named Alastair Roberts and lives in Edinburgh, little over an hour’s drive away from where I am in St. Andrews. He is a fan of N.T. Wright and has recently blogged on the way that Wright is being treated within the PCA and on his recent article on penal substitution. Having seen my doppelganger, I suddenly feel at least 15% less ‘Alastair’ than I did beforehand.

This entry was posted in The Blogosphere, Theological. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to In Which Alastair selects Five Thinking Bloggers and is Disturbed to Discover that he has a Doppelganger

  1. You should visit him Ally…

  2. Jon says:

    Apart from if you met you might become fused in some multi-dimensional rupture in the space-time continuum… best avoid him if possible!

  3. nick says:

    Alistair,
    Crazy thing is, I saw that blog and subscribed to it, thinking that he was really you. I just figured the location difference was a non-updated setting or something.

  4. Henna says:

    I might just be paranoid, since I work for a company that does domain-name management, but Alastair Roberts may not be his real name- he might have realised that he could pilch your readers….

    Although, there are two ‘other’ Alastair Roberts listed in Edinburgh on facebook. Inexplicably, I suspect it could be the one who has concientiously listed both his middle names…

    Better hope he doesn’t get hold of your credit card details…

  5. Al says:

    Jon,
    I fear that you might be right!

    Henna,
    I suspect that it is the Alastair Roberts who owns this site. Somehow I doubt that anyone would really want to take my identity…

  6. I should have included you on my list as well, Alastair!

    Best wishes,
    Cynthia

  7. Paul Baxter says:

    I suddenly feel at least 15% less ‘Alastair’ than I did beforehand.

    Are you losing weight?

  8. The ‘horror’ that is Chris Tilling, eh?
    I see.
    “Blessed are those who are persecuted”

  9. Jim says:

    Well what a crappy list after all…. First, Tilling is MENTIONED, and then, to add insult to injury, a certain unnamed person is, well, dang-it, unnamed!

    Dreck…..
    ;-)

    Heck, I haven’t even heard of any of those people….

  10. Jim says:

    Ok, I feel bad now. I have heard of Ben. He’s a good guy. Smart too. A real thinker…

  11. Jim:
    Chris I know, and Jesus too, but who is this Jim, and Ben?

  12. Al says:

    Not weight, Paul. Just identity.

  13. Al says:

    Thanks, Cynthia. It is probably for the best that you didn’t include me on your list. I haven’t posted much that is worthy of such a grand title of ‘thinking blogger’ so far this year.

    Jim, sorry that you weren’t mentioned. I just wasn’t sure that it would be appropriate to have both Chris and the Antichris on the same list.

  14. Alastair says:

    How amusing! To think that some folks think I have assumed the name “Alastair Roberts” to get more blog traffic! I can assure your readers it is my original name! Alastair, you may be further disturbed to know that my Father works at St. Andrews university and that I myself grew up in the town, and often visit!

  15. Al says:

    Alastair,

    That is really weird. I have never encountered someone with the same name as me before. However, an Alastair MacRoberts started working at the company I was working with before coming to St. Andrews (strangely enough, he had lived in Cupar for a number of years and knew St. Andrews well). There was also an Alastair Robertson in my halls last year.

    I guess the thing that disturbed me most was that you were blogging about N.T. Wright, who happens to be a great interest of mine (I was able to attend a lecture of his here in St. Andrews last week). Finding someone with the same name as me is strange enough; finding out that that person also enjoys NTW is quite weird!

    Perhaps we should meet up some time (although I must confess to being a bit concerned about Jon’s warnings about getting fused in a multi-dimensional rupture in the space-time continuum…).

  16. Jim says:

    The antichris- I like it! ;-)

  17. Alastair says:

    I suppose it is quite unusual for us both to have the same name, both be connected to St. Andrews, and both be blogging about Wright at the same time! I think I would also be careful about meeting up, have you ever heard of the Blinovitch Limitation Effect ? Perhaps that was what Jon was referring to..

  18. Al says:

    Yes. The effects sound unpleasant. Perhaps it is best not to run the risk!

  19. Ben Myers says:

    Thanks, Alastair! And thanks, Jim: I’ve heard of you too. But who’s this “Chris” person…?

Leave a Reply

